California’s Low Cost Auto Insurance (CLCA) program helps good drivers that are income eligible afford auto insurance that meets the state’s mandatory auto insurance law. Each policy provides liability coverage for the vehicle’s primary driver and eligible secondary drivers. A person is allowed up to two policies, one for each of two vehicles. All vehicles in your household must be covered under the CLCA program.
What You Get For Basic Liability Coverage
In case of an accident, “liability” covers you just for the damage you do to other people and their property. It does not cover your own medical or vehicle repair costs.
- A basic policy under the California’s Low Cost Auto Insurance program coverage provides:
- Up to $10,000 per person in case of bodily injury or death
- Up to $20,000 per accident in case of bodily injury or death
- Up to $3,000 for property damage
A CLCA policy offers the basic minimum liability coverage you need to drive legally. The CLCA program also offers two additional coverage options: Uninsured Motorist-Bodily injury and Medical payments.
Uninsured Motorist – Bodily Injury
Ordinarily, if you are in a collision and the other driver is at fault, their insurance pays for your repairs or medical bills. But what if that driver is breaking the law and driving without insurance? They will face costly legal consequences, but you’re still stuck with your own repair and/or medical costs. In this situation, if you are injured, having “Uninsured Motorist – Bodily Injury” insurance helps cover your medical costs as follows:
- Up to $10,000 per person (you or your passengers injured)
- Up to $20,000 per accident
This optional coverage offers wide-ranging protection within a number of accident scenarios: an accident involving the insured vehicle, an accident when you’re traveling in another person’s vehicle or even if you are hit by a car while walking. This inexpensive coverage can be especially helpful if you have high-deductible health insurance or don’t have health insurance at all.
Medical payments coverage
Medical Payments covers medical costs as follows:
- $1,000 per person injured
What About Damage to My Own Vehicle?
At this time, the affordable policies obtained through California’s Low Cost Auto Insurance program do not provide coverage for theft or physical damage to your vehicle. However, when applying, you can purchase additional “comprehensive” and/or “collision” insurance policies directly through the agent who assists you.
Select your county to learn just how affordable basic liability coverage through the CLCA program can be. Premiums for optional coverage such as “Medical Payments” or “Uninsured Motorist – Bodily Injury” are also available. All premiums listed are for one year's coverage.
Unmarried males between the ages of 19 and 24 will be assessed a 25% surcharge.
Find out the annual premiums in your county:
Major credit or debit cards are accepted. If you do not wish to pay the full annual premium up front, there are several payment plans available.
- $125 deposit with balance paid within 30 days
- $100 deposit with balance paid in six installments every other month*
- $125 deposit with balance paid in five installments every other month *
- 15% deposit with balance paid in six installments every other month *
*There is a $4.00 fee per installment payment.