Beginning February 1, 2018, California Low Cost Auto Program will accept 16-18 year olds as policy owners and/or operators, under the following rules:
- An applicant 16 or 17 years of age who is an emancipated minor in accordance with California statutes and an applicant 18 years of age who is financially independent as defined in the Plan of Operations may qualify for a Low Cost Auto Policy subject to a surcharge. See the website after February 1, 2018 for rates.
- As operators, on someone else’s application, 16-18 year olds do not have to meet the aforementioned criteria, but are subject to a surcharge. See website after February 1, 2018 for rates.